Lawrenceburg Speedway

  • 1
Lawrenceburg Speedway Roars Back to Life in 2024

Lawrenceburg Speedway Roars Back to Life in 2024

It was a family decision and it will be a family effort for the soon-to-be new operators of Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Tyler Nicely Wins his Third Merrill Downey Memorial


Lawrenceburg Speedway

Tyler Nicely Wins his Third Merrill Downey Memorial

Tyler Nicely Wins Third Merrill Downy Memorial!

Owensboro, Kentucky’s Tyler Nicely loves the Merrill Downey Memorial. He looks forward to the annual race every year, and even takes time away from his summer schedule to fit in the prestigious modified feature. 54 Kolossal Fireworks Insanity Modifieds were on hand attempting to qualify for the 24-car feature field. Will Krup started the 44-lap feature as the pole sitter and quickly pulled away from the field. Krup was cruising as the race leader when he suffered some front-end damage on his car severely hampering his ability to turn quick laps. This allowed David Stremme, a 2-time winner of the event to take over the lead. Stremme took command and looked like he would be the first 3-time winner, but Tyler Nicely had something to say about that. On a restart, Nicely was able to get around Stemme in turn 3 and hold on for his third win in the Merrill Downey Memorial. Nicely picked up a $6,060 payday. Danny Schwartz finished second followed by Matt Hamilton who came from 20th to finish 3rd with Cole Falloway and Dylan Woodling rounding out the top 5. Heat race winners were Stremme, Kyle Schornick, Will Krup, Derek Groomer, KC Burdette and Tyler Nicely. The B main winners were Pete Holt, Matt Hamilton, and Collin Green. The Kolossal Fireworks Insanity Modifieds return to the track on Saturday July 13th.

Milbee Wins first Steelblock Latemodel Feature at Lawrenceburg!

The Steelblock Latemodel Series made their first trip to Indiana and to Lawrenceburg Speedway as the support class for The Merrill Downy Memorial Modified Feature. 16 latemodels competed for the series first event in the Hoosier state. Series point leader Zach Milbee led the final 21 laps to pick up his first career win at Lawrenceburg and 4th of the year in series competition. The rest of the top 5 were Lucas McDonald, John Melvin, Thomas Baker and Joe Brewer. Heat race winners were Matt Melvin and John Melvin.

Article Credit: Chad Cunningham

Article Media

Back to News

Next Event

Driver Registration Buy Tickets!

4 Speed
Auto Glass Resources
Blake Haag Realty
Impact Sports
Kelsey Chevrolet
Kolosal Fireworks
Lawrenceburg Indiana
Lawrenceburg Motorcycle
Sourhtern Indiana REMC
Tands Racing Photos
Lawrenceburg Trailer Sales
Clarks Home Service
Storage Solutions
Kona Ice