News & Results

July 2nd Results

Hoffman Dominates 11th Merrill Downey Memorial!

Mooresville, North Carolina’s Nick Hoffman dominated the 11th running of the Merrill Downey Memorial at Lawrenceburg Speedway by leading 38 of the 44 laps to win his second Merrill Downey.  Hoffman won $7,116 in prize money for winning the prestigious race.  54 Modifieds attempted to qualify for the 24-car feature field with cars being separated into 3 qualifying groups and 2 heat race lineups coming from each group.  Brandon Green was fast time in group A. Dallas Miller fast time in group B and Nick Hoffman in Group C.  Heat race winners were Jason Jameson, Victor Lee, Kyle Schornick, Adam Stricker, Nick Hoffman, and Pete Holt.  Winners of the B-mains were Scotty Kincaid, Billy Green, and Jeffrey Jessup.  Victor Lee won the Winner’s Dash.  At the drop of the green flag, pole sitter Victor Lee jumped to the top spot until Hoffman took the lead away on lap 7.  Hoffman set the pace for the remainder of the event with Adam Stricker keeping Hoffman close for most the 44-lap race.  Stricker would finish second followed by Tyler Nicely, Josh Harris and Matt Hamilton.  The slick move of the race went to Dennis Roberson who gained 14 spots from his starting spot to finish 10th.  He would take home a $1000 bonus.  The KOI Auto Parts UMP Modifieds return to the track on Saturday July 9th.


Hensley Wins Late Model Feature for Second year in a Row!

Robby Hensley held on for the win and defending his victory in this race last year.  The battle for the lead was intense between Hensley and Trevor Landrum.  Tristan Chamberlain, who was celebrating his 15th birthday also put his car up into the lead battle near the end of the 20-lap race.  Any one of the 3 could have ended up in victory lane.  Following Hensley across the line were Trevor Landrum, Tristan Chamberlain, Derek Fisher, and Jerry Bowersock.  Heat race winners were Robby Hensley, Trevor Landrum, and Tristan Chamberlain.  26 late models were on hand to compete in Lawrenceburg’s only late model race of the season.