News & Results

July 6th Results

Stremme Wins 8th Merrill Downey Memorial! 

Mooresville, North Carolina’s David Stremme has only been to Lawrenceburg Speedway two times, and both times, he parked his modified in Signarama Victory Lane. This past Saturday night, Stremme won the biggest modified race of the year at the track won $5940.00 in doing so. 51 KOI Auto Parts Modifieds signed into the pits to compete for the guaranteed $4,444.44 to win, 44 lap feature. At the drop of the green flag, KC Burdette would jump to the lead. Burdette had been in line for the winner’s bonus by qualifying/winning every event he participated in heading into the 44-lap race. He looked strong for the first 10 laps of the race but Stremme. Stremme took the lead from Burdette on lap 10 but was not able to drive away from the field. Local Lawrenceburg favorite, Matt Hamilton was coming for Stremme and the two put on a show, that many will call “classic” with Hamilton throwing slide jobs at Stremme lap after lap but never being able to clear Stemme for the lead. A couple times Hamilton would get up over the cushion slowing his momentum. At one point, Adam Stricker passed Hamilton to take over second when Hamilton slipped up. Stricker would later spin going for the lead. The race was set up for a 4-lap dash to the finish with a thrilling battle for the top spot. In the end, Stremme crossed the start finish line first followed by Hamilton, Brian Gray with a career best third, Victor Lee, and James Rice rounded out the top 5. Heat race winners were Burdette, Stremme, Skaggs, Stricker, Victor Lee, and Matt Hamilton. B main winners were Peyton Harlow, Derek Groomer and Kyle Schornick. KC Burdette won the fast car dash.


Rice Wins Late Model Feature! 

Verona, Kentucky’s Josh Rice has had some success in a modified at Lawrenceburg, but Saturday night he enjoyed success in a late model picking up his first win at Lawrenceburg in a late model. He and Duane Chamberlain were the class of the field with Chamberlain leading the first half of the race as Rice chased him down. As Rice was getting ready to make a pass for the lead, Chamberlain’s car showed a puff of smoke out of the engine and a few laps later, had to retire from the even with an engine failure. Rice went on to when the race followed by Joe Brewer, Dustin Nobbe, Trevor Landrum, and Jesse Lay. Heat race winners were Brewer and Chamberlain.