News & Results

June 29th Results

Hughes Wins First Sprint Car Feature at Lawrenceburg!    

Indianapolis, Indiana native, JJ Hughes picked up his first feature win Saturday night after several years of trying.  He was a rookie at Lawrenceburg in 2009, and although had some good finishes, had never taken the checkered flag first in a feature at Lawrenceburg.  JJ would take the green flag from the outside of the third row for the 25 lap Kelsey Chevrolet Sprint Car feature.  He would work his way to third, but the real battle was taking place for the lead.  Shawn Westerfeld had grabbed the lead on the opening lap and had led until encountering lapped traffic and that allowed defending track champ, Garrett Abrams to make the pass for the lead.  Abrams led with Westerfeld in tow as they weaved their way through the slower cars.  The leaders came up on a slower car.  While attempting to pass the slower car, Westerfeld made contact with Abrams and both cars crashed with Abrams flipping on the backstretch.  Both drivers were ok but eliminated from competition.  This turned the lead over to Hughes who had no trouble holding off any challenges as he led the final 6 laps to pick up his first feature win.  The rest of the top 5 was Dallas Hewitt, Nick Bilbee, Dickie Gaines, and Joss Moffatt.  Heat race winners were Westerfeld, Cling, and Abrams.



Hamilton Wins both features on Saturday night! 

Matt Hamilton started 11th and came to the front to win the makeup feature on Saturday night at Lawrenceburg.  The race had been made up from a May 11th rainout.  Hamilton took the lead on lap 12 from Jeff Koz and pulled away for the win.  Coming across the line after Hamilton was Koz, Schornick, Cory Skipton and Scotty Kincaid.  Later on in the evening, Hamilton would lead all 20 laps to pick up his 5th win of the year.  Kyle Schornick made a good run on Hamilton, applying pressure for most of the race but at the checkered flag, it was Hamilton Schornick, Jason Hollon, Jeff Koz, and Chris Ullery.  Heat race winners were Bobby Burleson, Kyle Schornick, Matt Hamilton, and Cory Skipton.



Gary Whitt Wins Hornet Feature! 

Gary Whitt led all 12 laps on his way to pick up his first win of the year and second of his career at Lawrenceburg.  Coming into the night tied with the point lead, Whitt left the track with a 65-point lead on Hunter Holton.  The rest of the top 5 was Michelle Baird, Jerry Gibson Jr., Brian Moore, and Bobby Smith.  Heat race winners were Gibson Jr., Gary Whitt, Ryan Eversole, and Josh Hammond.   B Main winners were Jack Pflum and Billey Moore.



Joel Andrews Picks Up Third Purestock Feature Win! 

Joel Andrews is only 30 points out of the lead in the championship standings and after winning the last 3 features has proven to be a championship contender.  Will Hayes led the first 7 laps before Andrews passed him on the outside.  Dylan Chase, Adam Jones, Mike Ackman, and James Ackman rounded out the top 5.  Heat race winners were Will Hayes and Joel Andrews.