News & Results

May 28th Results

Hoffman Picks up Feature Win in Fill In Role!


Nick Hoffman has won one of the biggest events held at The Lawrenceburg Speedway.  He won the Merrill Downey Memorial back in 2014.  He has only been back 2 other times, once in a modified and once in a Late Model.  Modified driver Adam Stricker had asked Hoffman to run his car to fix the bugs and get it ready for the 2018 running of The Merrill Downey Memorial.  Hoffman took the lead from Pete Holt on lap 2 and led the rest of the laps in the 20 lap feature.  The series more dominate driver in 2018, Matt Hamilton started 9th had quickly made his way to second.  The leaders caught the back half of the field and this allowed Hamilton to close in on Hoffman.  A caution flag re-racked the field and gave the leaders clear track ahead.  This was all Hoffman needed to secure the win.  It looked like Hamilton may have developed a bit of a mechanical issue as his Modified seemed to slow at the end but he held on for a second place finish followed by Wade Rookard, Clayton Miller, and Pete Holt.  Heat race winners were Cory Skipton, Nick Hoffman, and John Trowbridge.  28 cars started the Budweiser UMP Modifieds feature as threatening weather forced the cancelling of the B main.  The Budweiser UMP Modifieds return to the track on Saturday June 2nd.