News & Results

September 16th- Night of Champions

Swanson Picks Up First Feature Win, Kinser Crowned Champ!

Kingsburg, California native Kody Swanson has won at many levels of racing and at many tracks. One track he had not yet won at was Lawrenceburg. Too his credit, he only occasionally would run the Burg as his national schedule prevented him from running regularly. On this night, a night where champions would be crowned in the 4 weekly racing classes, Kody Swanson, had the night he needed. He finished second in his heat race and drew the pole in the redraw for the 25 lap A Main. For Swanson, who led all 25 laps, it was not without some drama. The race was slowed by the red flag multiple times. 1 involving championship contender, Shawn Westerfeld and Tony DiMattia. Both took scary tumbles but were ok. Aaron Fry also crashed tumbled in turn 3. He was sore but also ok. Dallas Hewitt also flipped down the backstretch but was able to walk away as well. After the series or red flags, the race had a long green flag run where Swanson and Bilbee set the pace up front. Caution slowed the field one final time and set up a dramatic restart where Bilbee ran up over the back of Swanson as Swanson had slowed entering turn 1. This almost crashed both cars, but hurt Bilbee as he fell back to finish 5th. Landson Simon had made his way to second was beginning to put some pressure on Swanson has Swanson had bounced off the cushion a time or two trying to hang on. When the checkers flew, Swanson crossed first followed by Simon, Dickie Gaines, Jarrett Andretti and Nick Bilbee. Heat race winners were Matt Goodnight, Matt Cooley, Nick Bilbee and Jordan Kinser. Bedford, Indiana’s Jordan Kinser was crowned The Kelsey Chevrolet Sprint Car Track Champion as he finished 10th. Kinser entered the night 35 points behind Westefeld, but had picked up 2-0 points on Westerfeld by winning the heat race. Unfortunately for Westerfeld, he had to transfer through the B main to make the feature and crashed in turn 1 during the feature ending his chance at a second track championship. Jordan Kinser wins his first career track championship by being crownd Kelsey Chevrolet Sprint Car Champion.

Kramer wins #44 and #44 Spille takes Title!

Joey Kramer led all 20 laps on his way to his 3rd feature win of 2017 and 44th overall at Lawrenceburg. Ironically, 44 was also the number of 2017 Budweiser UMP Modified Champion David Spille. Heat race winners were Broc Burton, Joey Kramer, and Mat Hamilton. David Spille entered the night with a 25-point lead but the guy chasing him, defending champ, Scotty Kincaid was not competing to attend his son’s wedding. No one really knew if Kincaid was going to run or not as his car was there and did run the races with Don Grace as the driver. After finishing second 2 out of the last 3 years, in the championship battle, this was Spille’s year. He earned this championship which would be his first career championship. He was a model of consistency the entire year and the be crowned champ that is the one of the most important factors. The Harrison, Ohio native puts the Spille name in the record books as a track champion at Lawrenceburg. His father also finished second in the title chase multiple times at Lawrenceburg many years ago.

Dalton wins Hornet Feature, Moore Takes Championship!

Justin Dalton does what Justin Dalton does when he brings his hornet to the track. That is win. He led all 12 laps on his way to his first points win of the year but technically second win as he won the endure during The Night of Destruction. Dalton had no challengers as he cruised his way to the win. The rest of the top 5 was Dalton Smith, Cordell Moore, Michael Friemuth, and Andy Anderson. Heat race winners were Dalton, Anderson, Smith, and Moore. B main winners were Tj Wright and John Hampton. Cordell Moore was crowned the Besslers U Pull N Save Track Champion for 2017. Although all he had to do to clinch the title was start the feature as runner up finisher, Adam Love was too many points down to mathematically win it. Moore wins his first championship after his brother in law Gage Clark won it in 2016.

Don Grace Wins Feature and goes back to back as Track Champ!

Don Grace, the defending Impact Sports Track Champ, came into the night 15 points behind on his quest for his second track championship. 2017 had been a good year but he had to play catch up to clinch the title in the final race of the year. Chris Combs, the championship point leader and Grace both won their heat races was the points differential remained 15 points headed into the feature. All Combs had to do was finish second to win his first track title. Grace knew he had to win the race and hope that Combs wouldn’t finish second. Luckily for Grace, his son Jon would finish second and hold off Chris Combs to keep his father as the track champ for the second consecutive year. Combs tried hard to get around Jon Grace, but could never pull off the pass. Combs would end up 4th in the race and runner up in the points. Danny Eichler ran third followed by Combs, and Joel Andrews. Heat race winners were Grace and Combs.