News & Results

August 19th: Dick Gaines Memorial

Ballou wins Gaines Memorial!

Rocklin, California’s Robert Ballou Led from the pole and dominated the first part of the 25 lap Dick Gaines Memorial. A caution late in the race forced a restart of which Kevin Thomas Jr. traded slide jobs with Thomas Jr. actually leading a lap or two in the process. Ballou ultimately held on and won his first Dick Gaines Memorial and the $3,000 paycheck to go along with it. Ballou picked up his 6th career win at Lawrenceburg   Kevin Thomas, Jr. was second followed by Jarrett Andretti, Shawn Westerfeld and Dick Gaines. Heat race winners were Thomas, Jr. Tyler Thomas, and Robert Ballou. Shawn Westerfeld leads the Kelsey Chevrolet Sprint Car point standings by 35 points over Jordan Kinser. The Sprint Cars return to the track on Saturday, Sept. 2nd.



Rice wins Modified Feature!

Josh Rice is a threat to win every night out. He was won 3 times at Lawrenceburg in an impressive 5 attempts. Rice would not win this one so easily as long time Mod driver Brad Wieck would race side by side with Rice for the majority of the 20 lap feature. Wieck was better than Rice in turns 3 and 4 but Rice was better in turns 1 and 2 which had the 2 even lap after lap. As the race came nearing an end, Rice was able to secure the lead and hold on for the win. Wieck ran second followed by Kyle Schornick, Jason Hollon, and Matt Hamilton. Heat race winners were Mike Weber, Josh Rice, Pete Holt and Kyle Schornick. Mattt Hamilton won the B main. Scotty Kincaid leads the points by 40 over David Spille. The Budweiser Ump Modifieds return to the Burg on Saturday August 26th with the Lucas Oil Late Models.



Dalton Smith Wins Hornet Feature!

It’s been some time since Dalton Smith has won a hornet feature at Lawrenceburg. For a time, he was the most dominant hornet driver at the track. Bad luck and some mechanical failures have had him in a streak of bad luck at the track. Until Saturday night when Smith won for the second time this year and 8th time in his career. He and early race leader Brandon Stephens would race side by side for most of the 12 lap feature with Smith beating Stephens back to the checkered flag. Adam love had to start further back but came back to finish second followed by Stephens, Point leader Cordell Moore and Kevin McCoy. Heat race winners were Michael Friemuth, Cordell Moore, Destin Grout, and Dalton Smith. Dusty Frasur won the B Main. Cordell Moore had to find a car to drive as his car was not able to run. Hunter Holton climbed in and raced it to a 4th place run. He holds a 140 point lead over Adam Love with 2 races remaining. The Besslers U Pull N Save Hornets return to Lawrenceburg on Saturday 9/2.


Grace back to winning ways!

Defending Pure Stock Champ, Don Grace had probably the worst racing night of his career 2 weeks ago. 2 weeks later, that was all in the past and it was back to championship form and looked strong as he picked up his 3rd win of the year. Danny Eichler mounted a late challenge but would finish second followed by Chris Combs, Rick Vance, and Corey Smith. Don Grace won the heat race. Chris Combs continues to lead the points by 15 over defending champ Don Grace. The Impact Sports Purestocks will return to the Burg on Saturday, Sept. 2nd.