News & Results

July 1st Merrill Downy Memorial

Lee is late to track, but is first to Victory Lane!

Paris, Tennessee’s Lucas Less didn’t decide to head to Lawrenceburg for the 6th Merrill Downey until Saturday afternoon. They arrived to the track after the pill draw was closed, which forced him to qualify in the last group. This didn’t seem to have much of a problem as he started 6th in heat race 6 and quickly made his way to the front and won the heat. That put him in the fast car dash where he ran third, and put him to the inside of the second row for the 44 lap main event. 24 Modifieds earned there way into the race out of the 54 cars that entered. Each of the 24 had dreams of winning the coveted Merrill Downey Memorial, and the $4,444.44 in prize money. At the drop of the green flag, Trent Young would scoot out to the lead as he showed he was one of the fastest cars all night. Young and Lucas Lee settled into the top 2 spots with 4 time Lawrenceburg Track Champion Brad Weick running strong in the top 5 for the entire event. Fan favorite, Weasel Rhoades started 4th and ran in the top 5 until mechanical issues ended his chances at a win. Lucas Lee began pressuring Young and made the move around him for the race lead. Lee initially pulled away from Young and the only thing that kept the other drivers close were a couple of cautions that bunched the field back up prior to a restart. As the race was nearing the end, the leaders, Lee and Young, began to close in the back half of the field. This allowed Young to close in dramatically and almost stole the lead away from Lee. Unfortunately for Young, he pushed just a little too hard trying to make a move and spun out ending his chances at a win. Young would finish 14th. Lucas Lee led the rest of the way on his way to his first career victory at Lawrenceburg, and a huge payday with it over $6200 in prize money. Derek Groomer had an astounding run to finish 2nd but ran out of laps to challenge Lee. Weick finished second followed by Joey Kramer, and Matt Hamilton. Heat race winners were Dave Wietholder, Trent Young, Brad Weick, Weasel Rhoades, Joey Kramer, and Lucas Lee. B Main winners were Keith Smith, Rick Corbin and Ryan Thomas. The Budweiser UMP Modifieds return to the track on Sunday July 9th for as the support class for USAC Indiana Sprint Week.



Latham leads all 20 laps to win Late Model Feature!

Winchester, Ohio’s Nick Latham Won for the second time in 3 years at Lawrenceburg Speedway in the Late Model Feature in support of The Merrill Downey Memorial. He started from the pole and led all 20 laps in doing so. Last year’s winner, Robby Hensley, finished second followed by Kody Evans, James Rice and Bill Sheets. Heat race winners were Hensley, and Evans. Late Models will return to Lawrenceburg for the Lucas Oil Late Model Series on August 26th.

For Complete Results, CLICK HERE