News & Results

August 22nd-Whisky City 50

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

LAWRENCEBURG, IN (August 22, 2015) – Scott Bloomquist scored his first career win at Lawrenceburg Speedway on Saturday night with his victory in the “Whiskey City 50.” Bloomquist took the lead from Steve Francis on lap 17 and led the rest of the way for the win in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event.

The current LOLMDS points leader, Jonathan Davenport, moved to second on lap 17 and stayed there the rest of the way. Jimmy Owens came from ninth to finish third, followed by Eddie Carrier Jr., and 18th starting Dennis Erb Jr. rounding out the top five finishers.

“We have been here a number of times and it’s the first time for us to win here. Our car was very maneuverable the whole night. I was worried a bit in that heat race. We fell back to third. I didn’t realize it was that greasy on the bottom and the top was that fast.”

“For the feature, we made some adjustments and the car took off really well. We had a good race with Francis for a while. We got by him and I just held my line the rest of the way. We have worked really hard on this car to get it back where it belongs.”

Francis was looking for his second win in his last three starts Lawrenceburg, and bolted to the lead at the start of the race. He led the first 17 laps of the race until he suffered a right-rear flat tire, relinquishing the top spot to Bloomquist.

A caution with ten laps to go bunched the field up one more time, but Bloomquist maintained a pace that kept Davenport at bay for the remainder of the race.

“I would like to thank Mike Reece of Reece Monument Company, Mark Martin Auto Group, Crop Production Services, Dyna Gro, Hawkeye Trucking, Sorbera Chiropractic, Petroff Towing, Horton Coal, Lucas Oil, Base Fuels, Penske Shocks, and Andy Durham Racing Engines.”

Davenport was pleased with his runner-up finish. “This is only the second time we have been here, so to finish second is pretty good. I’d like to thank Kevin and Lee Roy Rumley and all my sponsors. It was a good point’s night so we will head to Pittsburgh next week and try to win that one.”

Owens finished third and said that starting too far back was too much to overcome. “We hung in there the best we could. We hauled it up there to third, but I just couldn’t keep my line on the bottom. My hat’s off to those guys [Bloomquist and Davenport]. We will go get them next time!”

Completing the top ten were Jason Jameson, Earl Pearson Jr., Brandon Sheppard, Don O’Neal, and Jared Landers.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 32 entrants, with a lap of 14.436 seconds. Jared Landers set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 14.317 seconds. Steve Francis, Earl Pearson Jr., Scott Bloomquist, and Jonathan Davenport won their respective heat races. Dustin Linville won the B-Main.


Kramer wins thriller over Hamilton!


The two most dominant drivers in the Budweiser UMP Modifieds this season with Hamilton scoring 6 feature wins and Kramer now with 4. Both of these drivers were starting outside the first 2 rows. They both quickly made their way to the front with Jason Jameson leading the first several laps. The top 3 were Jameson, Hamilton and Kramer. Hamilton was able to get around Jameson for the lead and take off. Second place changed hands when Jameson slapped the wall in turn 2 almost collecting Kramer, but Kramer was able to sneak past for second. A caution flag set up a thrilling finish for the fans as Kramer does on the outside of Hamilton on the restart. They raced side by side for the final 2 laps with Kramer beating Hamilton back to the checkered flag! Hamilton was second followed by Broc Burton, Jason Jameson, and Shawn Brown. Heat race winners were Burton, Spille, Brandon Green, Jameson, and Kramer. Jim Szekacs won the B Main. A serious crash during the feature eliminated defending champ Scotty Kincaid, Brandon Green, and David Spille. All three were ok, but done for the night. Matt Hamilton leads the point standings by 195 over David Spille with 3 races remaining.

The next event at Lawrenceburg Speedway is Saturday, August 29th! Racing will feature the IMCA Winged Sprint Car Series, Budweiser UMP Modifieds, Impact Sports Pure Stocks, and the Bessler’s U Pull & Save Hornets. For complete event details call 812-539-4700 or visit