News & Results

August 15th: Dog Daze of Summer

Stanbrough Wins Gaines Memorial!


Avon, Indiana’s Jon Stanbrough started on the pole and led all 25 laps en route to picking up the 2015 Dick Gaines Memorial. His feature win wasn’t without a few close calls however. Coming off of turn 4, to take the green flag, Stanbrough’s car drifted up into outside pole sitter Kyle Robbins and that caused a multi car incident that eliminated race contenders, Robbins, and Robert Ballou, and sent Jerry Coons Jr. to the tail after he was also involved in the incident. When the race restarted, Stanbrough was able to pull away bringing Dave Darland up to second. These two would pull away from the rest of the field until they encountered slower traffic, allowing the other drivers to close in. Darland tried a couple times to make a move on Stanbrough but the lapped traffic really equalized either driver from a major advantage. With a few laps remaining, Justin Grant and Joss Moffatt brought out the caution and leader Stanbrough clipped one of the stopped cars trying to drive around. Luckily for Stanbrough, his car was not damaged and he was able to continue on. When the race restarted, Stanbrough was able to hold off Darland and Coons, Jr, who came all the way back to run third. Aaron Farney and Garrett Abrams rounded out the top 5. Heat race winners were Robbins, Coons Jr., and Stanbrough.



Kramer Picks up Second Win in 2015!

Joey Kramer started in the 5th spot and quickly moved his way to the second trailing Pete Holt who led early on. Kramer ran down Holt and dove underneath him coming off of turn 4, the two made contact but Kramer was able to take the lead. Once Kramer got in front, no one could mount a challenge on the rocketman. Holt finished second, followed by series point leader Matt Hamilton, Kyle Schornick, and Weasel Rhoades who had to come from the tail after spinning out running third. Heat race winners were Schornick, Hamilton and Holt.



Matt Wheeler Wins in upset fashion!

Matt Wheeler has won at Lawrenceburg in the past, but when he showed up at the Burg on this night, most would not have picked him to be in victory lane. This season has been dominated by 3 time and defending champion Scott Hensley and Will McRoberts. With Hensley winning the last 2 features, he would have to start at the tail by rule, that greatly hindered his chances to 3 peat. McRoberts however, would be a different story. Strong and dominant, he would take the lead when his son Corebin broke while leading. McRoberts would lead with Wheeler not far behind. While leading, something on McRobert’s car broke showering sparks over the race track and ending his chances at a victory. This turned the lead over the Wheeler who was able to hold on for the win. Houston Roark was second, followed by Scott Hensley, Don Grace and Joel Andrews. Heat race winners were Hensley, Will McRoberts, and Matt Wheeler. Hensley continues to lead the points by 75 over Houston Roark.


Dalton Roark back in Victory Lane!

Defending Bessler’s U Pull N Save Hornet Champion Dalton Roark blew the motor in his hornet a couple weeks ago, and thought his season was over. They rebuilt the motor, and a few weeks later, Dalton was back in victory lane celebrating his third win of the season.   It was a 1-2 finish for Roark racing with Dalton beating his brother Andrew back to the line followed by Kendaal Eberhart Jr., Chris Friedhoff, and Darren Batchelor. Heat race winners were Brandon Caudill, Andrew Roark, and Katie Smith. Andrew Roark leads the point standings by 145 over Tim Baird who finished 17th.


The next event at Lawrenceburg Speedway is Saturday, August 22nd. It’s the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series racing for $10,000 to Win!! Racing will also feature the Budweiser UMP Modified. For complete event details call 812-539-4700 or visit



  For Complete Results, CLICK HERE