News & Results

April 4th -Opening Night

USAC Sprint Car Series

Lawrenceburg, Indiana…….Youth prevailed on Saturday night at Lawrenceburg Speedway as Kokomo, Indiana’s Logan Jarrett led all 30 laps to score a big AMSOIL National Sprint Car upset! The 20-year old survived a trio of late-race cautions after racing out to a huge lead over the first twenty laps, winning by 2.173-seconds in the J&J Trucking – Doak Trucking #29 DRC/Claxton. “Man…I’ve never felt anything like it. I’ve grown up at sprint car races and watched my dad race and kept getting better and better – it’s just an incredible feeling to win a USAC race. I knew I had so many great guys behind me, with so many wins, it made me pretty nervous to see those yellows. I just thought that race would never end. Joe Devin and Scotty Weir have helped us a lot with getting our car better, and it’s exciting to see the results of that. I’m just beyond excited right now,” Jarrett said. While Jarrett led throughout, the race was a frenzy for second on back. Robert Ballou moved past Kyle Robbins to take second, but Dave Darland was right there to challenge Ballou. Meanwhile, C.J. Leary was on the move from 17th using the far outer reaches of the high banks, finally moving into the top-five on an all-green run with ten laps to go. With a caution at lap 21, Jarrett led Darland, Ballou, Stockon, and Leary, but it took a few attempts to complete more than another lap. With 8 to go, Jarrett took off with the lead, but Ballou pressured Darland to take second. Leary was right behind him, finally diamonding off turn-two to take a full head of steam into the second spot with just four laps left. Leary was visibly closing on Jarrett in the final laps, but ran out of time. The 18-year old Greenfield, Indiana driver matched his best career finish in the Leary Construction Company – Green Tech Lubricants #30 DRC/Claxton Mopar. “Our racing is called ‘ruts and guts’ for a reason and the track delivered tonight. We got the car set up to run up in the thick stuff where nobody else seemed to be running. We got to fifth before we got to some guys who are just smart and put their cars in positions that make it tough to get around them. It was just a ball to run up through there, though. I’m really proud of Logan – we both are out there looking for our first USAC win and running hard. I just would have loved to see a caution at the end to give me a chance,” Leary said. Ballou rounded out the podium in the Blakesley Auto – MPHG Promotions #12 Maxim/Ott. “I’m just really happy for Logan Jarrett and his family. They are a good bunch of people, and it’s cool to see him get his first big win,” Ballou said. Kevin Thomas, Jr. came out on top of a huge battle in the closing laps to finish fourth but failed to report to post-race technical inspection as he left the track, thus being re-positioned to the tail of the field. Darland assumed the fourth spot in the final rundown aboard the Phillips/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports – Trench Shoring #71P DRC/Foxco, while ProSource “Fast Qualifier” Jon Stanbrough came home fifth in the MP Environmental Services – AED Motorsports Products #81 Spike/J&D.

Rice Wins Modified Season Opener at Lawrenceburg!


16 year old Josh Rice dominated the Budweiser UMP Modified season opener at Lawrenceburg. He took the lead on the outside from his front row starting spot. It was smooth sailing for Rice until the 18th lap when Herbert dove underneath Rice in turn one. The two made contact with Herbert pushing Rice up out of the way. Herbert secured the lead coming to the white flag. Rice was not giving up and got a big run down the backstretch on the final lap. Into turn three, Rice drove and dove underneath Herbert and slid up in front of Herbert and beat him back to the checkers! Herbert was second FOLLOWED BY Shon Flannery, Weasel Rhoades and David Spille. 29 Budweiser UMP Modifieds were in the pits with the heat race wins going to Rice, Herbert, David Smith, and Kent Robinson. Scotty Kincaid won the B main. The Budweiser UMP Modifieds return to the Burg on Saturday, April 11th.


Justin Dalton wins thriller in Hornet Feature!


34 Hornets started the evening with hopes of standing in the winner’s circle. Of course only 1 driver would, and on this night it was first time Lawrenceburg winner Justin Dalton.  Justin would take the green flag from the 5th position and he raced in the top 5 for the entire feature. Kevin Stamper who took the lead on the opening lap was the car to beat early on. As Stamper seemed to be in control up front, behind him was some crazy action. Contact between brothers Andrew and Dalton Roark sent Dalton’s car careening into the wall ending the defending champions night. When the race resumed, Justin Dalton was applying pressure to Stamper and pulling along challenging his lead. Coming to the checkered flag, Dalton was able to beat Stamper back to the line who unfortunately lost 4 spots back to 5th. Andrew Roark finished second for his best career finish followed by Blake Gibson, David Daughtery, and Stamper. Heat race winners were Davey Waggoner, David Daughtery, Kevin Stamper and Max Powers. Ryan Eversole won the B Main. The Bessler’s U Pull N Save Hornets return to the Speedway next Saturday April 11th.


The next event at Lawrenceburg Speedway is Saturday, April 11th. It’s Youth Sports Night at the Races: Any Youth Sports member who enters the gate in uniform receives free general admission. Racing will feature the Kelsey Chevrolet Sprints, Budweiser UMP Modifieds, Impact Sports Pure Stocks, and the Bessler’s U Pull & Save Hornets. Complete event details can be viewed at

 For Complete Results, CLICK HERE