News & Results

July 5th: Merrill Downey Memorial

Hoffman wins Merrill Downey!

The third annual Merrill Downey Memorial turned out to be a thrilling run to the finish. 52 Budweiser UMP Modifieds were on hand to qualify to be one of the 24 cars at a chance to win $4,444.44. At the drop of the green flag pole sitter, Hunter Rasdon jumped out and led the first 5 laps followed by defending winner Joey Kramer. On lap 6, Kramer passed Rasdon on the high side to assume command. Kramer as he has done so many times, pulled away from Rasdon and the rest of the field. Nick Hoffman, from Mooresville, North Carolina making his first trip to Lawrenceburg got around Rasdon for second. The pace settled down as Kramer began to lap cars with Hoffman pacing about 2 seconds behind Kramer. With 36 laps complete, a yellow flag bunched the field back up. On the restart Hoffman was able to race Kramer for the lead in what would be a thrilling race to the finish. We would find out after the race that Kramer lost his brakes and was holding on as much as he could but Hoffman was able to make the move and hold on to the lead for the final 4 laps. Kramer bounced off the wall but was able to hold on to second over Bryan Barber, Trent Green and Levi Kissinger. Hoffman picked up his first win at Lawrenceburg and the $4,444.44 to go with it. Heat race winners were Bryan Barber, Levi Kissinger, Hoffman, Kramer, Brian Shaw, and Hunter Rasdon. Rasdon won the Sign A Rama Winners Dash. B Mains were won by Derek Groomer, Daryl Herbert, and Weasel Rhoades. The Budweiser UMP Modifieds return to Lawrenceburg on Sunday, July 13th, alongside USAC Indiana Sprint Week.


Jason Jameson Wins at Home Track!

Jason Jameson led all 20 laps in the rare Late Model feature race at Lawrenceburg. 13 Late Models ran the 20 lap feature with Jameson leading the whole way. Duane Chamberlain Tried an outside move on Jameson early that ended with Chamberlain running out of racetrack and bouncing off the turn 4 wall. Following Jameson across the line was John Gill, Greg Johnson, Zak Blackwood, and Ethan Burgess. Heat race winners were Jameson and John Gill. Late models return to Lawrenceburg on August 23rd with the Lucas Oil Late Models.


The next event at Lawrenceburg Speedway is USAC Indiana Sprint Week, SUNDAY-July 13th. Racing will feature the USAC Sprint Cars & the Budweiser UMP Modifieds.


 For Complete Results, CLICK HERE